Today’s prompt: One of the character traits I really value in people I meet is__________. How do you practice this trait in your own life?

One of the character traits I really value in people I meet is authenticity. How do I practice this in my own life?

By being as authentic as possible in my life. But what does that even mean?

According to Wikipedia (I know, great source) authenticity is:

In existentialism, authenticity is the degree to which one is true to one’s own personality, spirit, or character, despite external pressures; the conscious self is seen as coming to terms with being in a material world and with encountering external forces, pressures, and influences which are very different from, and other than, itself.

I try to adhere to this as much as possible. How? By making choices in line with my beliefs. I think this is why I ultimately could never start smoking, needed to quit vaping but also felt terrible hiding my smoking when I was doing it.

That is all I have in me tonight. I feel like this might be a topic I want to explore more deeply some other time.

Meditation: Two minute stress-release meditation

