Prompt Questions: Who in your life makes it most easy to be yourself? What do they do or say that makes you feel like it’s ok to be you?

This question is pretty easy. My husband because he has seen me at my best, at my worst and he knows me like no other person knows me. He doesn’t have to say or do anything it make it feel ok anymore. I think in the beginning it was just accepting me for who I am but now that we have been together for 11 years (married for one) I can simply be around him.

My best friend from university falls in this category as well. We lived together for 6 years of our adult life and are still great friends so I think there is a certain level of comfort with that. When we lived together last time, she called me her platonic sister wife. She also accepts me for who I am and I her. Actually, she said something sweet to me last year when she was struggling with some mental health issues. She said that when she was learning Cognitive Behaviour Therapy (CBT) she said that I was the voice she heard when she does positive self-talk.

She is the only one who accepted my vaping fully, knew the full extent of my addiction and thus was the only person to find out about me quitting nicotine finally. I think I trusted her because she didn’t judge me negatively for deciding I needing to use. It was nice. She doesn’t know about my kink but would be the only person outside my relationship I would be willing to tell.

To be honest, since high school, I don’t have a ton of ‘really close friends’. My husband, best friend and a couple of others are the only I’d consider inner circle and the rest I have a more superficial relationship with. I’m okay with this. I don’t need tons of people that I am super close with, I think I would find that draining.

That is all for tonight!

Meditation for the day: Loving Kindness Meditation

