Today’s prompt was: Name 10 activities that make you feel good and feel like yourself. Here are my 10 and then I will describe why these activities make me feel good/ like me.

  1. Running
  2. Swimming
  3. Walking/ hiking in nature
  4. Sewing
  5. Knitting
  6. Taking pictures
  7. Cooking
  8. Teaching
  9. Spending time with my husband
  10. Playing with the dog

The first three are all physical activities. For running, I love the high even though that gets harder to get as you run more. I love that it is challenging. I’ve already liked running, especially long distances. I’ve loved swimming since I was a young child. The best thing my mom ever did is put me in a stroke improvement class when I was in grade 5. I fell in love with lane swimming and decided to join swim club. I’ve been swimming ever since. Swimming is probably the first mindful activities I’ve ever done. I’ve always found it really easy to be present while swimming. The last of these three is because I love being in nature.

The next four: sewing, knitting, taking pictures and cooking. I like all of these because they allow me to be creative and to create something. I like crafting and I love the feeling of finishing a project (or meal-yum) made by me.

The next one is teaching. I love teaching. At work, I always say to myself, I can’t believe that I get to do this for a living. I’ve found my calling for sure. I love helping people and my job allows me to tap into that side of me. I feel even more like this now that I teach adults in a correctional setting. While my job isn’t always easy, it is very rewarding.

Second from the last, I like spending time with my husband. I don’t have to ‘put any masks’ on around him which is nice.

Lastly, nothing I love more than taping into my inner child and playing with the dog.

Today’s meditation:  The Tree – A Grounding Meditation

I found the meditation super interesting.

Now off to clean, something that is near the bottom of my feel good and like myself list.

 

