Today’s prompt:

If I looked deep down to the depths of who I am, I trust that I would find:

My cheeky answer: blood, guts, some organs and BRAINS!

No, in all seriousness I’m having trouble with this one. I am many things. And just now, the song Bitch by Meredith Brooks comes to mind.

I don’t really think I’m a bitch. I’m not even really sure what that means. But I’m not as nice on the inside as people sometimes think. Overall,  I think I’m a nice person but there is something dark inside of me, an edge that most people don’t detect right away. Anyone who has ever connected with me has told me this. Is this darkness part of who I am? Yes but I think it’s only part. I used to fear this part of me. But dark doesn’t necessarily mean evil.

My job requires me to have empathy for people that have done some terrible things. Without this side of me, I wouldn’t connect or be able to empathize with them.

Without dark there cannot be light. If I looked deep down to the depths of who I am, I trust that I would find both light and dark, both good and bad and that is OK. Because I think I need both to be whole.

image

Meditation for this evening: Healing Light Guided Meditation

