I finally feel free. Odd that freedom should come from submitting to my desire, or perhaps not. Smoking occasionally wasn’t working for me anymore. Last week, I smoked 1-2 cigarettes every day except Tuesday. By Friday, my body was quite upset that one was the quota for the day. Since I find it psychologically impossible to reconcile smoker me with my non-smoker image, I decided to try a harm reduction strategy instead.

What is harm reduction? Harm reduction provides people that are unwilling to stop using their drug of choice with a safer alternative.

I chose to start vaping. It was a hard choice because it meant admitting to myself that I’m addicted. After my initial excitement, I vaped about every 3 to 4 hours or so. I realized that I had been living in a state of withdrawal since March.

I also threw out my pack of cigarettes. There was only about 10 cigarettes left which I had planned to smoke prior to purchasing my vaping rig.

I also came clean to my now husband. He took it very well and will soon be the owner of a new pipe since that was our deal if I bought a pack.

Anyhow, I’m sure I’ll post more on this later.

