I recently bought a pack of Benson and Hedges menthol cigarettes (even though I said I wasn’t going to), one of my preferred brands when I do smoke, but I found I wasn’t enjoying them as much as my pipe tobacco cigarettes. Since I bought them about a month ago, I’ve maybe smoked 6 of them but had very little draw to smoke anymore. But I did like have a real filter vs the paper pseudo-filter I had been constructing with my pipe tobacco cigarettes.

I had a crazy idea, followed by an intense ‘I must do this right now’ sort of feeling which resulted in probably the grossest looking but tastiest menthol cigarette I’ve ever smoked. You see, I can’t bring myself to throw out the pack that I have even though I actually don’t want to smoke those cigarettes. I decided to try taking the filter out of the commercial cigarette and put it into a pipe tobacco cigarette. Voila, tasty but disgusting looking cigarette. Why so disgusting looking? Well, we all know about the tar and crud you are inhaling into your lungs when you smoke, but because my rolling papers are so thin well, you could actually see the entire filter go brown. I’m sure commercial cigarette manufacturers have thought of this because their paper around the filter is very thick, thick enough to disguise this.

But  flavour wise, I prefer pipe tobacco cigarettes over commercial cigarettes, The interesting thing I noticed is that I could smoke way more of the cigarette before feeling like I was done with it. I think this has something to do with how the tobacco in cigarettes is treated vs how pipe tobacco is processed.

I also happened to be wearing my heart monitor, because I went for a run earlier and hadn’t changed yet. I’m a morbidly curious person and I noticed that the anticipation of smoking actually brought my heart rate up quite a bit prior to even smoking. It spiked at about 130 towards the end of the cigarette, but I think due to being pretty athletic I recovered pretty quick and was back down to just above resting heart rate within about 5 minutes. I’ve always wanted to do that. Curiosity satisfied.

What I don’t like about pipe tobacco cigarettes is I find them a bit harsher on the body. I feel it more in my lungs and throat afterwards. For that reason, I pretty sure that I won’t become a regular pipe tobacco cigarette person despite the fact that they now hold more draw for me than regular cigarettes.

Now that I have satisfied my curiosity, back to the grind. Well, as much of a grind as being on holidays is.

