* Warning* Do NOT read any further if you do not want to be spoiled on the book or movie “My Sister’s Keeper”


Random thoughts about smoking in movies…

I recently went to see My Sister’s Keeper. It is a movie based on book written by Jodi Picoult. Overall, I was happy with the adaptation. Except for one thing. The portrayal of the “troubled older brother” was to put it frankly: lame. In the book, older bro Jesse is a bad ass 18 year old arsonist. He set fires mainly to uninhabited buildings for attention from Dad who is a firefighter. His younger sister has been fighting cancer since she has been about two and the main focus of the family, so much so that know one really notices Jesse. IN the book, Jesse is also a smoker. In the book, there is even a scene where things get so intense for the youngest sister, thirteen, who was bred as a donor for her older sister, she asks Jesse for a cigarette and he gives it to her. But then, being the good older brother that he is, takes it away before she does too much damage.

Was there any smoking in the movie version. None. I expected a cut of the scene with Jesse and the youngest sister. But I expected to see Jesse smoke at some point since it seemed to add a bit to his character. But he didn’t. He didn’t smoke and further, he wasn’t an arsonist. I think that bugged me even more than the fact that he didn’t smoke. We were supposed to believe that Jesse was troubled from a few scenes where we see him walking around on the street with a hoodie on, drinking a milk shake and coming home late. Lame.

I have a feeling the smoking was taken out, because of the movement to have less smoking by teens in movies since it supposedly influences them and makes them want to start. For more on that see this site.
Okay, so maybe smoking is not disappearing entirely from movies but I think we are seeing less thanks to campaigning from these anti-smoking groups.

In my opinion, this idea that no smoking should grace the silver screen makes me question whether this will hinder art in a way. In the case of translation from book to movie, the removal of smoking, not to mention the character’s main plot line from the book made his character flat and almost pointless. I don’t know… it just bugged me.

Random thoughts about public smoking…

I also went to an outdoor rock concert and I have to say, I haven’t seen that many people smoking in one place since bars still allowed smoking. Apparently my roommate and I were standing in the smoking section. Well actually, there really was no such thing but it felt like everyone was smoking. She was getting really annoyed by it and I was just getting turned on. Not to mention, I got a huge urge to ask the girls next to me who were smoking B&H menthol lights for a cigarette. I didn’t… but part of me wanted to. In some ways I would love to “come out” to more people so that I can have the occasional cigarette and not have it be as big of deal. Which leads into the next topic I want to talk about…

More Random Thoughts about Renting and Smoking…

The place I had initially found fell through so I have once again been looking for a place to live. So I revisited whether to get a smoking apartment or to not get one and while I did not explicitly set out to find a smoking- friendly apartment it looks as thought that is what I am probably going to get. This both excites and frightens me a little, but I honestly doubt I will be smoking that much inside since my boyfriend will probably be over a lot of the time. It has a balcony too though which is appealing… I’m glad in the sense that I know no one will think twice about me lighting up and that I have the option to should I choose to do so. I like that I have the option to, even if I do not choose to exercise that option. But the more I think about it, what are the chances I don’t smoke at all if I am in a place where it is permitted? Slim to none seeing as I still managed to sneak away for cigarettes whilst living in my non-smoking abode. That said, I’m sure nothing will beat the thrill of smoking in my apartment or even on the balcony of my new apartment. I can’t wait.

