Skip to content

Pipe Smoking Diary: Part 3

February 15, 2010

February 11, 2010

On my way to smoking everyday, if I keep this up. So had the best friend over for dinner and after he got out his pipe, which he keeps at our place. My boyfriend asks, “Do you want to have a pipe?” and naturally none of us have any self-control and say yes. I think that the amount we are smoking now could have something to do with newness of it all. We only smoked half a bowl and we are getting better (slower) because our half bowls lasted about 40 minutes. I actually like the amount of a half-bowl because I get way too much of a nicotine buzz off of a whole one. Buzz can be nice, but it isn’t necessarily what I am going for. I also like it when I can still walk and don’t feel like puking. I guess one thing I wasn’t expecting was to be able to get a buzz from not inhaling. Apparently, it is harder to absorb nicotine in cigarette smoke through the mouth but quite easy to do so with cigars and pipe smoke. I smoked the corn cob and a different blend. It was called Nirvana and it is a Burley-Cavendish mixture that is “Smooth and sweet . Soft smoking with a hint of spice.” There was definitely a bit of sweetness and spiciness in this one. It was good, but I still like the East India Co. I smoked the past two times better. We are all getting better at the whole process, although I still have to re-light a fair bit. This time it was only twice though. Who knows, maybe we will smoke again tomorrow. Apparently once a week has gone right out the window. We are seeing the best friend again tomorrow to watch “The Return of the King” and pipe smoke? Perhaps. Only time will tell. I know that we have already planned to on Saturday.

February 14, 2010

Didn’t pipe smoke on Saturday as planned, but after spending the day moving I didn’t really feel like it anyways. Also, I realized on Friday that I had burnt my tongue pretty bad on either Wednesday or Thursday (or maybe a combo of both) and wanted to let my tongue heal some more. Pipe smoking is not nearly as enjoyable when you can’t taste the smoke. Now while most girls in a committed relationship love Valentine’s Day, I think I spent too many years single to ever really enjoy it. Plus, it is really just a corporate holiday now. Needless to say- despite the fact that my boyfriend bought me my pipe for Valentine’s Day, we really don’t celebrate it. So we finished cleaning up the apartment from moving me in enough to have people over and had two of his guy friend’s over. We told his one friend we would be smoking our pipes (which he found funny) so he brought his Cohiba cigarillos. These cigarillos bore no resemblance to the Primetimes. They were actually more like a mini cigar. I tried a bit, but after smoking my sweet blend of pipe tobacco the smoke was really harsh and hot. I assume that with a larger cigar the smoke would cool a bit as it goes through the cigar. I smoked Nirvana again and this is how I know I probably burned my tongue. I actually tasted flavours that I had not last time. The smoke was still sweet, but now I could taste peach (and people could smell peaches) and the spicy flavour remained. I also managed to not kill my tongue. Our cigarillo smoking friend was surprised at how long one bowl of tobacco lasts. He ended up smoking two in the time that we smoked one bowl and he was still waiting for us. We all smoked whole bowls and that took us about an hour. I’m also getting better a being able to tell when it is time to stop smoking the pipe. You start to get a bit of an ashy taste that is unpleasant and that is a good indication that there is not much unsmoked tobacco left in your bowl.

What was even more interesting, was his friend was under the impression that it was my boyfriend wanted to take up pipe smoking and I was the cool girlfriend that let him. Actually we both thought that was funny. Although it probably did seem that way because I really suck at lighting the pipe. I guess I’m just not good with matches. My boyfriend actually had to light mine for me last night and low and behold it stayed lit for a lot longer than when I do it myself. I’m considering getting some sort of pipe lighter, a low heat one so I don’t scorch my pipe.

All and all, it has been a good first week of pipe smoking although I will be cutting back in the coming weeks I think. Four times in one week was too much as it ceases to be a special thing for me then. I did notice that my tolerance to nicotine is already up too as I smoked a whole bowl with no ill effects. At most I will be smoking twice a week, once with the corncob and a quarter to half bowl once a week in my new pipe to break it in. I think the reason why we smoked so much this week is the excitement around doing any new thing. Until next time, happy smoking!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. chantman17 permalink
    February 15, 2010 10:41 pm

    Glad to hear that you are getting your sea-legs with pipe smoking! I’ve always had the impression that packing and lighting the pipe in such a way that it will stay lit is a real skill. I bet you’ll master it in time. With cigars, I am a much bigger fan of a good lighter than using matches, even in-doors. When you have the right tools, as they say, you can do anything – a good lighter saves you a lot of time and frustration with cigars, and I bet the same is true with pipes.

    In all this excitement of the newness of pipe smoking, you haven’t said much about whether or not it is satisfying your fetish. I gather that it is, but maybe it’s a little different than with cigarettes? And does it give you a thrill to see your boyfriend (and maybe his friend as well) smoking pipes the same time you are smoking?

    As for cigarillos vs. larger cigars, it is just as you guessed. People often start with smaller cigars because they think those will be a good gateway to smoking cigars, but in my experience cigarillos are harsh, hot, and will even burn your tongue (which as you’ve discovered kinda defeats the purpose of smoking in the first place). Larger cigars are cooler, stay lit longer, and generally have more complex and interesting flavor. That’s why, as you will recall, I always recommend beginners try a robusto or something of similar size (like 5 inches by 50 ring gauge).

    Good luck with your continued delving into pipes! I’m sure eventually you’ll settle into a rhythm of how much smoking you want to do each week. Hey, maybe you’ll eventually get me curious enough to try pipes myself!

    • February 15, 2010 11:16 pm

      As far as satisfying the fetish, it hasn’t been disappointing, despite the fact that I haven’t been aroused since the first time. I somewhat suspected that might go away with time since I don’t have a true fetish for pipe smoking. That’s not to say that it might never return, I have no idea. It could be because I haven’t really had much of a sex drive as of late and nothing much is arousing me. It is kind of nice that the first week occurred during this sort of time, because then I know that what I am feeling fetish wise is not clouding my actual experience of pipe smoking. I sometimes found with smoking cigarettes that I would remember an experience to be far better than it probably was mainly because I was totally aroused by it. I have had some “pipe day-dreams” of slightly erotic nature that have potentially inspired some short pipe erotica. Or at least ideas for some that I might type out soon. I do enjoy watching my boyfriend smoke, more than I thought I would since I really rarely find guys who smoke cigarettes to be attractive. But something about the pipe is different. It is almost like slightly bad, but also geeky and intellectual at the same time.

      What it does satisfy is my desire to smoke. A desire I’ve had for almost as long as I can remember and one I never thought I would be able to fulfill or at least one that I never contemplated fulfilling in the way that I am doing so.

      I will smoke a cigar at some point and definitely something bigger as you recommend.

  2. smokedawg permalink
    February 16, 2010 1:54 pm

    Glad it continues to go well. Every Pipe smoking diary brings me closer to confidence that I might be able to write a few decent pipe-focused erotica stories…

  3. February 16, 2010 10:40 pm

    I’ve got an idea for a one shot, although I’m not sure when I’ll have the time or be in the mood to type it out. Soon I hope…

    I have the winter/unemployment blues :(

  4. February 17, 2010 2:39 pm

    oooh pipe … yes now that I shoudl explore for a story and I am loving the idea of it being her rather than him! Thx!

    My dad smoked a pipe and I loved the smell.

    • February 17, 2010 2:58 pm

      I love the smell as well… although the sad part is you can’t smell it as much when you are smoking them. I would love to see you write a pipe story :)

      • chantman17 permalink
        February 17, 2010 10:58 pm

        The same is often true of cigars. When I’m walking down the street toward my local cigar lounge, I can smell a hint of cigar smoke wafting toward me through the air, and it is the greatest smell I know. But after entering the lounge, within a few minutes I don’t notice the smell so much. I’m immersed in it, even before I start smoking myself.

      • Rincewind permalink
        February 18, 2010 7:31 pm

        mmmmmm… the smell is the best part of pipe smoking or at least enjoying someone smoking it, I love the vision of cigarette and cigarr but the smell of pipe, so come on cigarettemakers, combine the two so I got the perfect fetish…

        • February 19, 2010 9:23 am

          That, unfortunately, will never happen. Cigarettes that smell and taste good- the antis would never let that happen. Although, I’m not sure how it would work, but you could probably use some pipe tobacco blends as roll-your-own. I imagine you would just have to let it dry out quite a bit. I think that is the only way I would smoke a cigarette again. Although it is subjective whether or not pipe smoke smells good, more people seem to like the smell of pipe smoke over cigarettes. Another bonus, is that pipe smoke does not linger as much on clothing. I once again dedicated a “smoking jacket” to pipe smoking and I can barely smell it. My similar smoking jacket for cigarettes reeked and I maybe smoked about 10 or 12 cigarettes in it, outside. And then there was the sweatshirt that I could barely wash the smell out of…

  5. April 12, 2014 5:09 pm

    It’s going to be ending of mine day, however before end I am reading this enormous article to improve my knowledge.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

